Annual Awards at Whitehall Mill

Annual Awards and Board Annual Meeting. Quite a celebration! Photo by Marcus Ervin.

The evening of June 1, NDC joined with our partners, volunteers and family to celebrate notable Maryland influencers in the design and community development fields, share recent accomplishments and launch our vision for NDC’s next five years. As we move into our 50th year, exciting growth and development are on the horizon, as we build on our rich history.

This year, NDC re-instituted the tradition of publicly honoring our volunteers and partners by telling their stories and presenting awards at the annual meeting. Awardees were recognized for their selfless dedication to the work of community design and community development, in the following categories:

Hall of Fame: Martina Reilly
Baltimore Volunteer of the Year: Jimmy Leonard
Prince George’s Volunteer of the Year: Walida Smith
Baltimore Community Advocate of the Year: Regina Hammond
The Kelley Oklesson Community Advocate of the Year: Margaret Morgan-Hubbard
The Larry Reich Award: Laurie Feinberg

Laurie Feinberg receives the Larry Reich Award. Left to Right: Board President Evan Richardson, Laurie Feinberg, Executive Director Jennifer Goold, Sandy Sparks. Photo by Marcus Ervin.

Regina Hammond is honored as Community Advocate of the Year. Photo by Marcus Ervin.

The event, in conjunction with the NDC Board’s Annual Meeting, was held at Whitehall Mill’s soon to be developed market hall. Attendees, who ranged from 7 months to 70+ years, and enjoyed light fare, music, stories and local beer, in an ambiance of conviviality.

Heartfelt thanks to those who made the event possible!  For more event photos, see the album here.

Left to Right: Nicole Aranda, NDC Development Associate, Kristina Williams, NDC Board Member, and Kendra Hyson, NDC Project Coordinator. Photo by Marcus Ervin.

NDC Board Treasurer Traci Hatch Robinson and Board President Evan Richardson. Photo by Marcus Ervin.